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TO: New Hampshire Medicaid Pharmacy Providers
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DATE: Dec. 16, 2015
SUBJECT: Changes in Pharmacy Copayments

Beginning March 1, 2016, pharmacy copayments will increase for those recipients not otherwise exempt from the
copay obligation. Copayments are required of these Medicaid recipients if they are enrolled in either the state fee-
for-service program or with one of the two Medicaid managed care organizations (MCQO): New Hampshire Healthy
Families or the Well Sense Health Plan.

For Medicaid recipients subject to prescribed drug copayments:

e A copay of $4.00 will be required for each preferred prescription drug and each refill of a preferred
prescription drug.

e A copay of $8.00 will be required for each non-preferred prescription drug and each refill of a non-
preferred prescription drug, unless the prescribing provider determines that a preferred drug will be less

effective for the recipient and/or will have adverse effects for the recipient, in which case the copay for the
non-preferred drug will be $4.00.

e A copay of $4.00 will be required for a prescription drug that is not identified as either a preferred or non-
preferred prescription drug.

o Copays are not required for family planning products or for Clozaril (Clozapine) prescriptions.

Emergency Drug Coverage

Pharmacies are reminded that federal statute requires Medicaid programs (Fee-for-Service and managed
care) provide payment for dispensing of at least a 72-hour supply for any drugs requiring prior
authorizations if prior authorization cannot be obtained outside of Medicaid business hours. (Section 1927
of the Social Security Act. Codified as Section 1396r-8 of Title 42.(d)(5) (B))

Pharmacies must request payment for the 72-hour supply from the client’s prescription plan, either Fee-
for-Service or the appropriate Medicaid MCO.



