New Hampshire
Department of Health and Human Services

Division for Children, Youth and Families CHILD CARE SCHOLARSHIP
FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENTS

Fact Sheet for License-Exempt Child Care Home Providers

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) requires your fingerprints checked
when you apply to become a license-exempt child care provider. All members of your
household who are 17 years of age and older must also be fingerprinted. New Hampshire
law RSA 170-E:7 requires that DHHS conduct background checks on license- exempt child
care providers enrolled in the child care scholarship program. The background check will
consist of:

e Fingerprint-based criminal record check of the FBI national database;

e New Hampshire State criminal record check, and

e Check of the New Hampshire central registry for child abuse and neglect.

What You Need to Know about Fingerprinting Be Sure to Bring the Following Three
Items With You:

This is the Process to Follow
e The notarized Background Check Request Form for

You should: yourself and each member of your household who
will be fingerprinted. You must have the forms
1. Pick up the license-exempt child care provider notarized before you arrive for your appointment.
enrollment packet from the fam“y requesting child If the forms are not notarized, the station will not
care or from your local District Office (DO); take your fingerprints. You will then have to
schedule another appointment for a date after the

2. Complete the Background Check Request (Form forms are notarized;

2602 LICENSE EXEMPT CHILD CARE FORM NH RSA

170-E:4); o Official Federal or State issued photo identification

such as a driver’s license or passport;
3. Call the appointment desk at 603-223-3867 and

identify yourself as a license-exempt child care e A check or money order for $14.75 for each
provider. Ask to schedule an appointment to be individual being fingerprinted. Make the check
fingerprinted and indicate how many members of payable to: State of NH Criminal Records.

your household will be with you to be fingerprinted;

4. Have your signature on the Background Check If you don’t have a valid driver’s license or
Request Form notarized by a notary public no more passport, you can have a State issued photo 1D

than one week before your appointment; made at your local Department of Motor Vehicles.
' They will require an original birth certificate and

one other form of identification, such as your

social security card, along with proof-of-residency.
At the Department of Motor Vehicles, complete the
driver’s license application and pay the $10.00 fee.

5. Arrive at the fingerprint station at least 10 minutes
before your scheduled appointment.




What You Can Expect

A Department of Safety employee will assist you with
the fingerprinting process. Expect the appointment to
require 15 minutes of your time. This is an inkless
process. Your prints will be taken on a digital
machine. Your fingerprints will be processed through
the New Hampshire State Police and the FBI
databases.

The Results of the Background Checks

The results of the background checks will include any
records held in the FBI and New Hampshire State
Police criminal records databases, as well as any
records in the central registry of child abuse and
neglect. DHHS will receive the results and a copy will
be placed in your child care provider enroliment file.

If the background check reveals information of
concern, you will receive a certified letter. You, or
the person in your household with the conviction or
finding of child abuse or neglect, will need to
submit a letter of explanation. You may also be
required to submit a corrective action plan prior to
final approval of your enrollment as a license-
exempt child care provider. You will not be paid for
child care services you provide until you are enrolled
as a license-exempt provider.

If the background check reveals no information of
concern, you will be enrolled as soon as your
paperwork is approved. You will receive a letter in
the mail with your Resource ID number.

What Else You Should Know

At every three-year renewal of your child care
enrollment, you and your household members will be
subject to a paper criminal records check and central
registry check. Your fingerprints are taken only at
application for enrollment. If you are reapplying
because your enrollment closed, you will have to be
fingerprinted before your enrollment can be
reopened.

Fingerprint Stations

NH Department of Safety: 33 Hazen Drive
(James H. Hayes Building), Concord

DMV Manchester Commons: 377 South
Willow Street, Manchester

DMV Dover Point: 50 Boston Harbor Road,
Dover

Troop C — Keene area: 15 Ash Brook Court,
Keene

Troop E — Ossipee area: 1864 Route 16,
Tamworth

Troop F — Littleton area: 549 Route 302, Twin
Mountain

If you have questions, please call the Child Care
Enrollment Specialist at 1-800-852-3345 Ext. 2175.

129 Pleasant Street ¢ Concord, NH 03301 9 800-852-3345 4 www.dhhs.nh.gov

PD 15-09
February 2015

Form 2624


http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/

	The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) requires your fingerprints checked when you apply to become a license-exempt child care provider. All members of your household who are 17 years of age and older must also be fingerprinted. New Hampsh...
	What You Need to Know about Fingerprinting This is the Process to Follow
	Be Sure to Bring the Following Three Items With You:
	What You Can Expect
	The Results of the Background Checks
	What Else You Should Know
	Fingerprint Stations


