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FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENTS 
 
 
 

Fact Sheet for License-Exempt Child Care Program 
Employee or Volunteer 

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) requires your fingerprints checked 
when you apply to become a license-exempt child care program employee or volunteer (age 
17 years or older, who has “regular contact” with children). New Hampshire law RSA170-E:7 
requires that DHHS conduct background checks on license-exempt child care providers 
enrolled in the child care scholarship program. The background check will consist of: 

• Fingerprint-based criminal record check of the FBI national database; 
• New Hampshire State criminal record check, and 
• Check of the New Hampshire central registry for child abuse and neglect. 

 
 
What You Need to Know about Fingerprinting 

This is the Process to Follow 

You should: 
 

1. Pick up the necessary forms from your 
employer; 

 
2. Complete the Background Check  Request 

(Form 2602 LICENSE EXEMPT CHILD CARE 
FORM NH RSA 170-E:4); 

 
3. Call the appointment desk at  603-223-3867 

and identify yourself as a license-exempt child 
care provider. Ask to schedule an appointment 
to be fingerprinted; 

 
4. Have your signature on the Background Check 

Request Form notarized by a notary public no 
more than one week before your appointment; 

 
5. Arrive at the fingerprint station at least 10 

minutes before your scheduled appointment. 

Be Sure to Bring the Following Three 
Items With You: 

 
• The notarized Background Check Request 

Form. You must have the forms notarized 
before you arrive for your appointment. If the 
forms are not notarized, the station will not 
take your fingerprints. You will then have to 
schedule another appointment for a date after 
the forms are notarized; 

 
• Official Federal or State issued photo 

identification such as a driver’s license or 
passport; 

 
• A check or money order for $14.75. Make the 

check payable to: State of NH Criminal 
Records. 

 
 

I f  you don’ t  have a va l id  dr iver ’ s l icense 
or passport ,  you can have a State i ssued 
photo  ID made at your  loca l  Department 
of  Motor Vehic les.   They wi l l  require an 
or ig inal  b ir th cer t i f icate and one other 
form of  ident i f icat ion,  such as your soc ia l  
secur i ty card,  a long with proof -of -
residency.   At the Department of  Motor 
Veh ic les,  complete the dr iver ’s l icense 
appl icat ion  and pay the $10.00 fee. 



What You Can Expect 

A Department of Safety employee will assist you 
with the fingerprinting process. Expect the 
appointment to require 15 minutes of your time. 
This is an inkless process. Your prints will be 
taken on a digital machine. Your fingerprints will 
be processed through the New Hampshire State 
Police and the FBI databases. 

The Results of the Background Checks 

The results of the background checks will include 
any records held in the FBI and New Hampshire 
State Police criminal records databases, as well 
as any records in the central registry of child 
abuse and neglect. DHHS will receive the results 
and a copy will be placed in your child care 
employer’s enrollment file. 

 
If the background check reveals information of 
concern, your employer and you will receive a 
certified letter. You will need to submit a letter 
of explanation. You may also be required to 
submit a corrective action plan prior to final 
approval of your employment as a license-
exempt child care program employee or 
volunteer. 

What Else You Should Know 

 
 
 
 
 

Fingerprint Stations 

NH Department of Safety: 33 Hazen Drive 
(James H. Hayes Building), Concord 

DMV Manchester Commons: 377 South 
Willow Street, Manchester 

DMV Dover Point: 50 Boston Harbor Road, 
Dover 

Troop C – Keene area: 15 Ash Brook Court, 
Keene 

Troop E – Ossipee area: 1864 Route 16, 
Tamworth 

Troop F – Littleton area: 549 Route 302, Twin 
Mountain 

 
If you have questions, please call the Child Care 
Enrollment Specialist at 1-800-852-3345 Ext. 
2175. 

At every three-year renewal of the license- 
exempt child care program’s enrollment, you will 
be subject to a paper criminal records check and 
central registry check. Your fingerprints are 
taken only at application for employment.
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