skip navigation Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
Families & Children Women Teens Adults Seniors People with Disabilities
Application
Any parent or caretaker with a minor child (under 18) is eligible to apply for services through DCSS. To receive services you must complete and sign an application. Applications may be requested through email. Please indicate "Application Request" in the subject line and provide your full name and mailing address in the body of the email. You may also obtain an application by contacting your local DHHS District Office. All services are available even when one of the parties does not reside in New Hampshire. For more information regarding the services offered by DCSS please go to Child Support Services.

Participants in the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program must, by law, participate in the Child Support Program.

DCSS will even collect your spousal support as long as you have an ongoing child support order that you also wish to have collected for you.

In NH, the duration of child support is pursuant to RSA 461-A-14, which states; New Hampshire Child Support is payable until the dependent turns 18 or is out of high school, whichever occurs later; becomes married or a member of the armed services; is declared legally dependent beyond that age due to mental or physical disability; or unless the court has otherwise ordered support to continue beyond age 18.

Your court order will not change as each dependent emancipates unless you have a "per child" order or bring your order back to court.

Child Support Orders issued in another state may be payable longer. You can check the Federal Office of Child Support's Intergovernmental Website for other state's regulations for age of majority.

Assignment of Rights to Current Child Support: If you receive public assistance in the form of a TANF cash grant, you are required to cooperate with DCSS in establishing and enforcing support. Some medical assistance programs also require you to cooperate with DCSS. So long as you are receiving these benefits, DCSS will retain support collected on behalf of the dependents to reimburse the assistance paid to you.

If I already have an order can I still apply for services? If you currently have a child support order that is not ordered payable through DCSS and the payor is at least one month in arrears, you can apply for child support services to enforce the court order. DCSS will petition the court to change your order so that child support payments are sent directly to the NH State Disbursement Unit (SDU). Payments are sent to Payees who are not recipients of TANF assistance within 2 business days of receiving them.

DCSS Child Support Worker and Attorney Responsibilities: The DCSS Attorney or Child Support worker assigned to your case represents the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (Department) and does not represent you or your child(ren). The DCSS attorney or worker acts on behalf of the Department to establish paternity; to establish, enforce, and modify child and medical support orders; and (if applicable) to obtain repayment for TANF provided for your child(ren).

$25 Annual Fee: Beginning each fiscal year on October 1st, an Annual Service Fee Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol of $25.00 is deducted from payments received in your case(s) after $500.00 has been collected and disbursed to you. The fee is not charged if you have ever received TANF Public Assistance on behalf of the dependents in your care. If you have multiple cases, the fee is charged in each case.

Answers to many of your questions may be found throughout this website. If you are unable to find answers to your questions, you may contact a Central Information Unit representative by email for further assistance. Please provide the purpose of your email in the subject line along with full name, contact information and case identifying information (if appropriate) in the body of the email.

Adobe Acrobat Reader Symbol Adobe Acrobat Reader format. You can download a free reader from Adobe.

 
Translate this page

Disclaimer

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street | Concord, NH | 03301-3852


copyright 2010. State of New Hampshire